Thank you to all the attendees of the 7th Symposium on Motor Control in Biomechanics, and to NSF for their support.

12 June 2018

The event was held on Tuesday May 29th 2018 during the Annual Meeting of the American College of Sports Medicine (ACSM) in Minneapolis, Minnesota.

The symposium focused on “Innovative techniques towards a new approach to sports and exercise” and featured internationally distinguished researchers in the field of Motor Control and Biomechanics (see flyer for details), including:

  • Dr. Darryl Thelen
    University of Wisconsin-Madison, USA
    “A noninvasive sensor of tendon loading during dynamic movement”
  • Dr. João Paulo Vilas-Boas
    University of Porto, Portugal
    “Assessing and understanding forces in swimming””
  • Dr. Ezio Preatoni
    University of Bath, UK
    “Movement, coordination and their variability in sports skills monitoring: where we are and what is missing””
  • Dr. Ross Miller
    University of Maryland, USA
    “Predictive models are most useful when they are wrong””
  • Dr. Angus Hunter
    University of Stirling, UK
    “Neuromuscular control in clinical and athletic populations: science of past, present and future””
  • Dr. Jasper Reenalda
    Roessingh Research and Development, University of Twente, The Netherlands
    “A novel approach to investigate differences in knee mechanics after ACL reconstruction using inertial sensors””
  • Mr. Oladipo Eddo
    George Mason University, USA
    “Effects of gait modification on lower extremity sagittal plane biomechanics””

Winners of the NSF-Sponsored Travel Awards at the 7th Symposium on Motor Control in Biomechanics

We would like to thank the National Science Foundation (NSF) for their financial assistance in supporting the symposium, and for sponsoring NSF-funded travel awards in the amount of $500 USD for ten US-based undergraduate and graduate students to participate in the symposium. Congratulations to the winners!

  • Oladipo Eddo
    George Mason University
  • Crystal Hajek
    John Carroll University
  • Caleb Johnson
    University of Pittsburgh
  • Joshua Keller
    University of Nebraska – Lincoln
  • Diba Mani
    University of Colorado
  • April McPherson
    Mayo Clinic
  • Kristen Neitz
    Georgia Southern University
  • Heather Riley
    Point Loma Nazarene University
  • Sydni Wilhoite
    Georgia Southern University

Many thanks to the De Luca Foundation for their support, and to all of the speakers and attendees for making the 7th Symposium of Motor Control in Biomechanics a success.

We look forward to seeing you at WCB 2018!

This site was designed with Mobirise site theme